Dean: Dr. Maarifa Ali Mwakumanya
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The School of Environmental and Earth Sciences (SEES) offers multidisciplinary courses in environmental, community development and earth sciences and provides an understanding of the interactions between the natural functioning of the planet earth and the consequences of human impact on the environment. The primary focus of the School is the links between human societal dynamics, environmental sustainability and the ability of the earth to withstand the interactions. The school currently offers Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral degree levels programmes in the areas of Environmental Sciences, Environmental Planning and Management, Environmental Studies in Community Development, and Geography. Programs to be introduced soon in the School include GIS and Remote Sensing; Urban planning and Development, Mineral Exploration and Mining; Mineral Processing and marketing Geology, Natural Resources Management and Disaster Management and conflict resolution among others.

Currently, the staff and students in the school are engaged in researches in Mariculture, Climate change resilience and adaptation, Human-wildlife conflicts, Payment for ecosystems services, and Sediment dynamics and hydrology on sand dunes, Biodiversity based value chain, Livelihood needs and nature conservation in biodiversity hotspots among others.

The School has the following Departments:

  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Environmental Studies (Community Development)

Academic Staff Profiles

Dr. Maarifa Mwakumanya Chair of Department
Dr. Benards Okeyo Lecturer


Documents and Policies

Quick Links

Go to top